BSA Supporting Excellence Awards

The annual BSA Supporting Excellence Awards are our chance to celebrate the achievements, hard work, and dedication of schools and individuals in boarding.

The 2022 Awards were once again sponsored by Engage, with the winners being announced at our Annual Conference for Heads on May 3-4.

Please see below a full list of the winners and highly commended finalists from this year’s BSA Supporting Excellence Awards, sponsored by Engage:


Best Community Work via BSA ‘On Board’ Initiative Award (sponsored by Govox

WINNER: Wellington School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Gordonstoun, Sherborne Girls


Boarding House Extension or Refurbishment Award (sponsored by Witley Jones)

WINNER: St Catherine’s, Bramley

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Ryde School, Sutton Valence School


Boarding Innovation Award (sponsored by Engage)

WINNER: Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate


Boarding Research Award (sponsored by MTM Consulting)

WINNER: St Leonards, St Andrews, Fife



Most Original Activity During National Boarding Week Award (sponsored by Schoolblazer / Limitless)

WINNER: Myddelton College

HIGHLY COMMENDED: ACS International School, Cobham; Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate


Wellbeing & Mental Health Initiative Award (sponsored by Zeelo)

WINNER: Bredon School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Cranleigh School; Malvern St James Girls’ School


Supporting Junior Boarders Award

WINNER: Caldicott School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Perrot Hill; Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate


Supporting International Boarders Award (sponsored by Password)

WINNER: Scarborough College

HIGHLY COMMENDED: DLD College London; Eve Leung – Elite Anglo Chinese Services


International School of the Year Award (sponsored by Password)

WINNER: Wycombe Abbey School, Changzhou

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Bromsgrove International School Thailand


Working with Vulnerable Children Award

WINNER: Reed’s School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: CATS College Canterbury; Royal Hospital School


Outstanding INDEX (Inclusion and Diversity Excellence) Leadership Award

WINNER: Alex Lowe – Bede’s School


NEW: Best New INDEX (Inclusion and Diversity Excellence) Initiative Award (sponsored by Moore Barlow)

WINNER: Rugby School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: DLD College London; The Royal High School, Bath


NEW: Best New Artwork Project (sponsored by Shelleys the Printers, Sherborne)

WINNER: Malika – Roedean School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Joana – Royal High School Bath; Meryl – Mayfield School; Mitsuki – Aiglon College


Khadija Saye Photography Award

WINNER: Leander – Eastbourne College

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Sin Man (Alice) – Sutton Valence School; William – Aldenham School


Stephen Winkley Award

WINNER: David Barnes – Strathallan School

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Allison Onions – St George’s School, Windsor Castle; Cathryn Rogerson – Cottesmore School; Heidi and Gary Blunt – Queen Anne’s School, Caversham; Kim Tutcher – Malvern College; The late Liz Firek – King’s Ely; Sister Linda Green – St Catherine’s, Bramley


Congratulations to all of our 2022 winners and highly commended finalists, and thank you to everyone who submitted an entry for this year’s competition. Special thanks to Engage for sponsoring the awards, and to all of the sponsors of the individual award categories.

The BSA Supporting Excellence Awards 2023 will open for submissions in January 2023 and more details will be published here then. In the meantime, if you have any questions about the awards, please contact us at

Best Community work via BSA ‘On Board’ initiative award

Winner: Monkton Combe School

Highly commended: Rendcomb College; Gordon’s School

Boarding House Extension or Refurbishment Award

Winner: Ipswich High School

Highly commended: Summer Fields, Oxford; Sedbergh School

Boarding Innovation Award

Winner: Marlborough College, Malaysia

Highly commended: Bedales

Boarding Research Award

Winner: Alex Large – The Royal School Wolverhampton

Highly commended: Marlborough College, Malaysia; Bedford School; Sherborne Girls

Wellbeing & Mental Health Initiative Award

Winner: DLD College London

Highly commended: Dulwich Prep Cranbrook; Marlborough College Malaysia; Sherborne Girls

Supporting Junior Boarders Award

Winner: Godstowe Preparatory School

Highly commended: Sherborne Girls; Saint Ronan’s School

Supporting International Boarders Award

Winner: Bede’s School

Highly commended: Gordonstoun; Dollar Academy

International School of the Year Award

Winner: Kolej Tuanku Ja’afar (KTJ)

Highly commended: Sotogrande International School

Outstanding INDEX (Inclusion and Diversity Excellence) Leadership Award

Winner: Jami Edwards-Clarke – Hurstpierpoint College

Highly commended: Louise Fahey – Caterham School; Louise Wilson – Charterhouse

Working with Vulnerable Children Award

Winner: Lord Wandsworth College

Khadija Saye Photography Award

Winner: Luca Vasile-Berde – Rochester Independent College

Highly commended: Xiao Wang – St Mary’s School, Cambridge; Yao Xiao – St Mary’s School, Cambridge

Stephen Winkley Award

Winner: Wendy Lang – King William’s College

Highly commended: Lindy Themistocleous – Barnard Castle School; Rebecca Brown – Sherborne Girls

BSA Boarding Research Fellowship Award

Carla Shearman, Head of Boarding, Queen’s College, Taunton