Bromsgrove School have won the prestigious NatWest U18 Schools trophy
14th April 2015

Bromsgrove School have won the prestigious NatWest U18 Schools trophy in a very exciting match against Dulwich College at Twickenham. The match took place on March 25th and the final score was 30- 18 with Bromsgrove’s Captain Luke White the man of the match.

Dulwich College were defending champions, having won the Cup for the last three years,  and  this being their fourth successive finals appearance. They had been unbeaten in their previous  33 matches and had scored over 50 points in their semi-final match.  Then they came up against a brilliant Bromsgrove School U18 team.

This was Bromsgrove’s first final for the Schools Cup, having previously made it through to the semi finals. It was a marvellous game played by two superb sides. The handling by our team was almost flawless and the running rugby the best we have seen all season.  Captain and Man of the match, Luke White, controlled the game brilliantly, converting three tries, slotting three penalties, and his cross-field chip kick to find wing Cooper Bent in space drove his team into the lead with the game finely-poised and 10 minutes remaining. Dulwich threw everything they had at the Bromsgrove line  but couldn’t put a dent in it.  The title was Bromsgrove’s.  

Almost 1000 supporters, school pupils, parents, staff and Old Bromsgrovians went to Twickenham to cheer on our boys and the match was a nail biting affair – there was a live stream going on at School for those of us who couldn’t go to the final. 

Tony Windo, Director of rugby at Bromsgrove, praised his boys for their work ethic. “You get out what you put in, and they worked so hard for each other. This is a life lesson for all of them.”

Congratulations to the team of

Harry Ferguson, Henry Walker, Harrison Fowke, Beck Cutting, Justin Clegg, Ben Schmermund, Joseph Morrice, Thomas Ford, Paolo Parisi, Luke White, Cooper Bent, Alexander Nisbet, Chase Edwards, Jonty Thornton, James Taylor, William Lockhart, Nikita Khatin, Jack Weston, William Hands, George Wootten, Benjamin Tibbetts and Blake Edwards.

Credit: Image - Adam Scott Photography

You may also be interested in ...