ESAA Bromsgrove Prep School Boys Create History
18th June 2018

On Friday 8th June at Tudor Grange, Bromsgrove School’s Year 8 Boys’ athletics team became Midlands Champions of the ESAA Track and Field Cup and will now contest the National Final in Gateshead on Saturday 7th July.

Bromsgrove will be one of only twelve schools from an entry of over five hundred who will contest the National Final. This is a fantastic achievement and the first time ever in the School’s history that the boys have qualified for the National Final two years in a row.

The day could not have started any better as Neil Cai and Fyodor Shaskin both threw new life time best performances in the hammer, scoring over fifty points between them. All of the track events were strong, with Cyrus Passman running a big personal best by five seconds in the 800 metres and Louis Upton scoring twenty-eight points in the 80 metres hurdles.

There were personal bests also for Morgan McKinley in the 200 metres, Thando Best in the 80 metres hurdles and Harry Draper-Barr in the 300 metres. Throwing events were incredibly strong, with Harry Draper-Barr breaking a twenty-one year old School record in the discus with his best thrown of 33.45 metres, scoring twenty-seven points.

Zach Armstong extended his own School record further in the shot, Louis Upton threw a life time best in the javelin of just under 34 metres and with Alexander Holroyd jumping a new personal best in the high jump, it was becoming inevitable that Bromsgrove would win the match. This is a very special achievement indeed and many congratulations to the team.

Well done to the Year 7 & 8 girls who amassed 354 points in total and came 3rd overall. An improvement from the County round by 12 points and many personal best scores contributed to this achievement.

The results are as follows:


1.         Angelina Sanghera in the high jump 1.29m and 30.2 secs in the 200m

2.         Chloe Reijmer 48.1 secs in the 300m and 1.32m in high jump

3.         Ella Kershaw-Crombie 4.20m in the long jump and 5.42 mins in the 1500m

4.         Sophia Meadows 5.55 mins in the 1500m

5.         Louise Osborne 17.70m in the discus and 2.46mins in the 800m

6.         Amellie Clare 20.20m in the javelin

7.         Abigail Barker 13.5 secs in the 75m hurdles

8.         Evie Derbyshire 17.42m in javelin and 14.8secs in the 100m

9.         Laura Yong 29.4 secs in the 200m and 3.98m in the long jump

10.       Jemima Vaughan-Hawkins 7.58m in shot and 3.03 mins in 800m

11.       Issy Rusling 7.67m in shot and 14.7 secs in the 100m

12.       Jessica Whitlock 14.7 secs in 75m hurdles

You may also be interested in ...