District Athletics
7th June 2018

On Wednesday 6th June, Bromsgrove took a full strength Year 7 boys’ athletics team and a B strength Year 8 team, (the Year 8A team have the Midland Final of the National Cup on Friday 8th June), to compete at the annual District Championships at The Abbey Stadium, Redditch. This turned out to be a superb afternoon of athletics for both boys and girls, who won a total of forty-seven medals. Highlights included:


Year 7

Joe McLoughlin – gold medal high jump, PB,  silver 200metres PB, and silver 4x100 metres relay

Daniel Vassell - gold medal 75 metres hurdles PB

Hanli Yang - gold medal discus PB

Sebastian Hall – gold medal javelin

Oliver Holden – silver medal shot put

Rufus Parker – silver medal javelin

Manobal Limbu, George Hastings, Kingsley Reid  - silver medal 4 x 100 metres relay

Nicholas Hunt – silver medal discus

Finbar Dinnen – bronze medal 1500 metres


Year 8

Callum Wilkinson – gold medal 300 metres PB

William Hobbs – gold medal 1500 metres

Louis Heptinstall – gold medal discus PB

Thomas Holroyd – silver medal 800 metres PB and silver medal HJ PB

Frederick Hanson – silver medal triple jump PB

Archie Greaves-Hall – bronze medal triple jump


There were many other personal best performances and pupils who finished in 4th, 5th and 6th positions.


For Bromsgrove to win a total of twenty medals was quite remarkable.  Congratulations to all the boys who took part.




On Wednesday 6th June, Year 7 & 8 took part in the District athletics competition at The Abbey Stadium. Well done to all girls, especially the medal winners:


Gold medallists:

  1. Angelina Sanghera in the high jump and hurdles
  2. Chloe Reijmer in the 300n
  3. Charlotte Jones in the 800m
  4. Lily-Mae Wood in the hurdles
  5. Ella Kershaw-Crombie in the long jump
  6. Sophia Meadows in the 1500m
  7. Louise Osborne in the discus
  8. Lidia Belcuore in the shot put
  9. Both the Year 7 and Year 8 4 x 100m relay

Silver medallists:

  1. Freya Lawton in the 200m
  2. Rosie Callaghan in the high jump
  3. Sophia Mills in the hurdles
  4. Lily-Mae Wood in the discus
  5. Ella Kenwood in the 1500m
  6. Ella Kershaw-Crombie in the 800m
  7. Issy Rusling in the shot
  8. Abigail Barker in the hurdles
  9. Amellie Clare in the javelin
  10. Chloe Reijmer in high jump

Bronze medallists:

  1. Hatty Owen in the 800m
  2. Amelia Rowe in the long jump and 100m
  3. Sophia Mills in the long jump
  4. Evie Kingston in high jump
  5. Louise Osborne in the 800m
  6. Tash Bahra in the 300m
  7. Evie Derbyshire in javelin
  8. Jasmine Underwood in the 1500m
You may also be interested in ...