Wymondham College awarded the World Class Schools Quality Mark
27th November 2015

World Class Schools Quality Mark - 2015 Winners Announced

The World Class Schools Quality Mark (WCSQM) has today named the latest batch of schools to have successfully completed the accreditation process to be awarded the status World Class. 

Now in its second year of accreditation, WCSQM has awarded the mark to a further 18 state secondary schools from around the country. Each of these schools has demonstrated that they far exceed the highest Ofsted inspection grade, and have successfully undertaken the rigorous WCSQM assessment process to demonstrate that they are a class apart.

The WCSQM process requires schools to provide students capable of compiling comprehensive evidence in support of their application. All applicant schools must exceed a challenging threshold in their Key Stage 4 performance before being approved to participate. Their own students must then develop a compelling case for accreditation through detailed auditing of their school's capabilities, video submissions in support of their
application, and participate in an assessment centre event, at which their performances are assessed against a rigorous framework.

The award’s uniqueness lies in the fact that the students are assessed with regard to whether they are World Class or not, rather than the school itself. The premise is, that if the school is truly World Class, then its students should be able to demonstrate this in whatever context they find themselves. The award is supported by a range of local and national businesses, further and higher education, and parent organisations who are interested in
which schools nationally are the best at developing young people to succeed in the burgeoning global economy.

This year, the assessment centre event took place at Foulds School in Barnet, north London, an outstanding primary school. As part of the assessment, the 60 potential World Class students were required to complete a social responsibility project and bring about genuine, positive transformation. Head teacher at Foulds, Helen Browett, said, ‘The assessment centre day was fabulous from start to end. The prospective World Class students were extraordinarily impressive, unfailingly polite, patient and creative. Our playground environment is now significantly improved thanks to the hard work of everyone involved.’

Announcing the awards, Miranda Perry, co-director of WCSQM said, ‘The Mark is about recognising how well the top secondary schools in the country prepare their students to thrive in the 21st century. We are confident that our awarded schools provide their students with the best life chances possible.’

The official award ceremony will take place in November in central London, with Professor John Mullan, head of English at University College London officiating. For schools interested in receiving the award, applications for the 2016 cohort open in January. Please see for further information.


The 2015 winners

• Alexandra Park School, Haringey
• Bishop Challoner Catholic Federation of Schools, Tower Hamlets
• Bishop Ramsey Church of England School, Hillingdon
• Bordesley Green Girl's School and Sixth Form, Birmingham
• Chelsea Academy, RBKC
• Cranford Community College, Hounslow
• Darrick Wood School, Bromley
• Elizabeth Garrett Anderson School, Islington
• Finham Park School, Coventry
• Harris Academy Chafford Hundred, Thurrock
• Harris Academy Greenwich
• Hayes School, Bromley
• The Heathland School, Hounslow
• Holland Park School, Kensington and Chelsea
• Rushcliffe School, Nottinghamshire
• St. John the Baptist School, Woking
• Tudor Grange Academy Solihull
• Wymondham College, Norfolk

Previous winners

• Ashcroft High School, Luton
• Bury St Edmunds Academy Trust, Suffolk
• Clapton Girls' Academy, Hackney
• Claremont High School Academy, Middlesex
• Nower Hill High School, Middlesex
• Sandringham School, Hertfordshire
• The Forest Academy - Beal High School, Redbridge
• Wren Academy, Barnet

Source: World Class Schools Quality Mark