Finalists announced for BSA Awards 2020
16th September 2020

The Boarding Schools’ Association is delighted to reveal the shortlist of finalists in this year’s BSA Awards.

Held for the first time in 2018, these awards are our opportunity to celebrate the achievements, hard work, and dedication of schools and individuals to boarding. And this year promises to be the biggest and best BSA Awards yet, with four new award categories being introduced, alongside some more established favourites.

The winners will be announced at our Annual Conference for Heads, which takes place virtually on Tuesday and Wednesday, September 22 and 23.

Congratulations to all of the following schools and individuals who have made the final shortlist:

Best Community work via BSA 'On Board' initiative Award

  • Sedbergh School
  • Sherborne Girls & Sherborne School
  • Marlborough College, Malaysia

Boarding House Extension or Refurbishment Award

  • Sunningdale School
  • St Andrew’s Prep
  • Bede's School

Boarding Innovation Award

  • Reddam House
  • Brighton College
  • Pangbourne College

Boarding Research Award

  • Marta Gallego-Bermudez (Letovo School)
  • Burford School
  • Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate

Most original activity during National Boarding Week Award

  • Mowden Hall
  • Pangbourne College

Stephen Winkley Award

  • Peter Hardy
  • Rachel Foster
  • Jan Goldsmith
  • Pete Bellenger
  • Michael Carslaw

Supporting International Boarders Award

  • Loughborough Grammar School
  • Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate
  • Janet Thomas (Scarborough College)

Supporting Junior Boarders Award

  • Perrott Hill Prep School
  • Farleigh School
  • Julie Gillam (St Ronan’s)

Wellbeing & Mental Health Initiative Award

  • Wellington College
  • Cottesmore School
  • Sedbergh School

Working with Vulnerable Children Award

  • The Royal School, Wolverhampton
  • Christ's Hospital School.

During the ceremony, we will also be revealing the winner of a very special award, the Khadija Saye Photography Award, named in honour of the former Rugby School boarding pupil and respected international photographer, who tragically died in the Grenfell Tower fire in 2017.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to send in nominations for this year’s awards – we hope you will be able to join us next week when we announce the winners.

Places are still available for our Annual Conference for Heads – if you have not yet booked your place and would like to do so, please click here.

You may also be interested in ...