Bromsgrove Triumph over Bede’s to become U17 National Cricket Champions
27th August 2019

Bromsgrove Senior Cricket side are now National Champions after triumphing over Bede’s School, East Sussex on Wednesday 4th September in the National Final at Loughborough.


After winning the toss, Bede’s took early wickets to reduce Bromsgrove to 36-3. Bromsgrove recovered with a stand of 42 between Awais Mohammed and Mo Talukder which started a slow, but assured rebuild. Awais then took control of the innings, batting through to make 78 not out, an outstanding match winning innings. Cameos from Freddie Fallows and Henry Marshall helped Bromsgrove stay in the game and post 158 from their 35 overs. This was slightly below par, but Bede’s were most impressive, with their fielding being the best the School has seen this year.  Very good bowling from Jasper Davidson, Freddie Fallows and Dan Meredith stemmed the flow of runs and increased the pressure on St Bede’s.


Bromsgrove took two early wickets to reduce the visitors to 18 for two, with Jasper Davidson taking both - an outstanding spell with the new ball, taking the prized wicket of Worrell in particular, with an unplayable delivery. Spin twins Freddie Fallows and Dan Meredith then squeezed through the middle overs to build the pressure, bowling 14 over for 45 runs with three wickets falling. Henry Marshall and Jasper Davidson returned to bowl important overs towards the end, before Joe Miszkowski stepped up to bowl three fantastic overs under huge pressure, taking 2 wickets for 18 runs from his 3 overs, including the last over with 9 runs to defend. With two stumpings and a run out in the final over, Bromsgrove became National Champions by 5 runs in an amazingly close final. Special mention also goes to Tom Cosh - taking three stumpings and two fantastic run outs under pressure.


Bromsgrove beat King’s, Trent, Shrewsbury, Myrescough, Stamford and eventually Bede’s along the way to become National Champions from 90 Schools who entered.


Congratulations to Awais Mohammed, who was named Man of the Match.


You may also be interested in ...