Year 6 bring Mary Poppins to life during annual production
6th August 2019

A Preparatory School year group took to the stage for a sensational depiction of one of the greatest feel-good musicals of all time.

The Year 6 contingent at Rydal Penrhos held their annual production over a two-night period on June 19 and 20, which saw the aspiring performing artists take on the Walt Disney classic Mary Poppins.

Taking on the lead role was Violet Roberts, who played Mary Poppins exceptionally well during a tremendous showcase of her ability on stage, with Head Boy Ellis Lister-Brookes, Head Girl Grace Watkins, Fflur Pierce and Louis Walkden-Williams portraying the Banks family to great effect.

The charismatic Freddie Barrington-Chance played the role of Bert with his customary enthusiasm and humour, and other notable contributions early on in the performance came from Pippa Roberts (Katie Nanna), Keira Luke (Mrs Brill) Cieran Milligan (Robertson Ay) and Tristan Griffiths (Neleus).

The role of Bird Woman was expertly played by Rana Abou-Samra, with Freya Berklay taking on the important part of Miss Smythe with aplomb.

Zack Coverley (Chairman), Gabe Donohue (Von Hussler) , Will McLaughlin (John Northbrook) and Maggie McDuff (Mrs Corry) also played a leading role in the overall success of the production, and other performances that caught the eye came from Daisy Yates (Miss Andrew), Will Hibbert (Policeman) and Sophie Edwards (Messenger).

Various roles throughout the production were played by Theo Roberts, Freddie MacLaverty, Molly Alefounder, Amber England-Bryant, Chloe Tillman-Lennon and Gracie Tavernor, and a number of staff members guided them superbly both during the rehearsal process and during their time on stage.

Prep School Head Alison Hind, said: “Our Year 6 production is always one of the highlights of the calendar here at Rydal Penrhos, and each pupil deserves an enormous amount of credit for their truly wonderful performances that thrilled everyone in attendance.

“It was a wonderful showcase of what we offer from a creative perspective here at Rydal Penrhos, and I would also like to thank Mrs Chamberlain, Mr McLeod, Mr Davies, Mrs Tebbits, Mrs Chamberlain, Mrs Hutin, Mrs Morris and Mr McGuigan for their selfless contributions.”

You may also be interested in ...